Photography, Paintings and other creative works

DIY Christmas

Hello faithful followers!  I realize we are into February already of the new year….how does time go by so fast??

Here are a few of my favorites I made this Christmas.

Lighted wine bottle

Lighted wine bottle

This wine bottle was one of my favorites this year!  There is only ONE type of wine that I like…thanks to my friend Chris.  I made this for her with the first big bottle we shared (up until October “our” wine was only available in smaller bottles).  With a special glass bit, my husband drilled a hole near the bottle- I fed in the lights, sprayed the bottle with frosted glass spray paint, and added the ornaments and bow…then made one for myself too! 🙂

Lighted vase- my girls

Lighted vase- my girls

Thanks to Pintrest, I found A LOT of things I wanted to make….photo vases were one of them.  I printed the picture on vellum and Mod Podged it to the vase.  Then I sprayed the rest of the vase with frosted glass paint and inserted a flameless votive.  Then, I needed a little something for my oldest daugther’s violin teacher…

Lighted vase- Canon in D

Lighted vase- Canon in D

Side view of Canon in D

Side view of Canon in D

I printed sheet music on vintage paper and did the same thing…it came out great!  I liked the look of the sheet music and made these little snowmen, too…a little brown ink around the edges to make it more vintage.

Snowman ornament

Snowman ornament

 

This year we took our Girl Scout troop to Designing Dish as part of our Potter badge.  The girls painted mugs and ornaments.  They were ready to take home in time for our Christmas party- I made these hot chocolate snowmen as a little something special.  Just baby food jars, dowel sections, felt, paint and, of course, hot chocolate mix and marshmallows!

Hot Chocolate snowmen

Hot Chocolate snowmen

I love the deluxe apples but not the price…so this year I made my own!  I covered large honey crisp apples with caramel then drizzled them with chocolate, toffee pieces and/or pecans.

Deluxe caramel apples

Deluxe caramel apples

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

